Alter Der Ruine “This Is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things” (CD ProNoize)


Alter Der Ruine - This Is Why We Can't Have Nice Things


Artist: Alter Der Ruine
Title: This Is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things
Format: CD
Label: ProNoize
Genre: Industrial, Hardcore, Techno
Release date: April 1, 2010

With several albums and singles the Arizona-based trio have up to this day only been released in the US on their label Crunch Pod. “This Is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things” is a selection of their best tracks and together with ProNoize they are now available for European territories. The album comes packed with a bonus disc with remixes from band like Aesthetic Perfection, Assemblage 23, Haujobb and Noisuf-X.

Striking with a force of heavy Industrial beats and mixing elements from Tencho, Hardcore as well as IDM and House they offers a wide range of styles in their music. At one moment you’ll get pumping beats of Hardcore while on the next striking with deep and heavy Industrial. More or less every track is instrumental but includes one with vocal performances. “Stage Of The Ruin” is that track and from which I can draw similarites to older Front Line Assembly. Personally I prefer this ahead of the more Techno and House that the rest of the tracks are overhauled with. I would really wanted to get more of the Industrial style like “Stage Of The Ruin”.

Though, it is a pretty decent release but don’t forget that it’s more like a best-of album and is definately something for those who want to check out the bands song history.


CD 1
01. Pain Killer
02. When Machines Cry
03. Achtung! Bitches ?
04. Elevator Noize
05. KIA
06. Coppin’ It Sweet
07. State Of The ruin
08. Morning Sobriety
09. Demon Missile
10. Loserstreet
11. Relax And Ride It
12. Batsmasher

CD 2
01. Relax And Ride It (Aesthetic Perfection Remix)
02. Coppin’It Sweet (Noisuf-X Remix)
03. State Of Ruin (Haujobb Remix)
04. State Of Ruin (Assemblage 23 Remix)